“Caroline’s” Banana Bread

If there’s one thing I’m known for making, it’s my banana bread. People request it, I make it, people love it. Although it’s not my personal recipe, it comes from an old cookbook my mom has, to others I seem to make it the best ;). This bread is SO good, everybody should try it!

Banana Bread (serves about 12)

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup sugar
  • 3 bananas, mashed
  • 4 Tbsp butter (1/2 stick) melted and cooled
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour

Directions:

Preheat oven to 325 F. Grease a bread pan in whichever way you please, I prefer canola oil. Combine the bananas, butter, sugar and egg. Here, the recipe says to combine the other ingredients in another bowl however I prefer to add the rest in the same bowl. I put the salt and baking soda in first to incorporate completely, then add the flour. Once mixed, pour into a bread pan and put in the oven for 55-60 minutes.

If you feel the need to make it lower calorie, feel free to use 1/2 cup of ideal sweetener instead or use whole wheat flour. However, sometimes the “real thing” is sooo worth the extra calories, just consider moderation!

P.S. the whole reason I made this particular loaf was for my best friend’s “week of sweets” I’ve decided to treat her to this week since her birthday is Thursday. She LOVES this bread, and was so pumped when I gave it to her 🙂

Leave a comment

Filed under dessert, snack

Leave a Reply

